Novice getting started - repeated login prompt, now what?

I’m a novice. However, after getting the Microsoft Wireless keyboard I can enter enter the login: pi, but then after enter password: raspberry, get: 8 lines, starting with Last login: w date and UTC on tty1, a line w info on the 3.12.26-rt40+ #1 PREEMPT RT …etc; lines w info on the distribution, a lin: Raspbian GNU/Linux 7 raspberrypt tty1, followed by the login prompt. So then what?

hi Patrick,

That is good news! Means you have successfully logged in and you are now on the commandline. Welcome to linux :wink:

I guess you have logged in using telnet? or ssh?

So then what…? What do you want to do?

May be play around with the examples?

Personally I love this one!

hugo

Thanks Hugo,
However, doesn’t seem like I’m at the command line prompt. I didn’t do anything remotely, just plugged in the MS wireless 800 keyboard, which got around the known issue. Instead, I stuck in the SD card and powered up. Lots of startup lines scroll by, but when I try logging in, I get the after UN: Pi, when I enter password: raspberry, I get: 8 lines, starting with Last login: w date and UTC on tty1, a line w info on the 3.12.26-rt40+ #1 PREEMPT RT …etc; lines w info on the distribution, a lin: Raspbian GNU/Linux 7 raspberrypt tty1, followed by the login prompt, again and again. On the other RPi distribution I’ve run: Linux 3.2.0-2-mx5 armv71 Debian, I instead get pi@raspberrypi ~$ with blinking curser where I can enter commands; launch gui, shutdown, etc. As a beginner, I’m not seeing how to do anything on this RT enabled version. But, usually with me, it’s operator error. I appreciate any suggestions.

Hello Patrick,
The image with RT kernel is not intended for general use and it really does have problems with keyboard support. The image should be used in embedded systems, where there’s usually no GUI. I’d suggest to use ssh over ethernet\wifi to connect to your Raspberry.