Newbie septic designer wanting to stake out

Hello all,

I am a new septic designer trying to start my own business. I am basically trying to figure out if all my needs can be met with a pair of RS2+ receivers (even better if I could do it with just 1), or if I would need a total station as well.

I have two basic functions I need to achieve.

1. Setting the permanent benchmark for the site.

2. Staking out the system I design in AutoCAD.

I believe I cannot do this with just 1 receiver as I will sometimes be without cellular coverage. Would I be able to do it with 2 RS2+ units without cellular service?

Setting the benchmark seems easy enough, but I am not sure about the process from AutoCAD to Emlid Flow, to the field and actually staking out the corners. Is this possible?

Thanks in advance for helping out a newbie.
Argo

1 Like

Hello Argo, welcome and good luck with your projects !

From what you told, this looks perfectly fine to do with a pair of RS2+. This way you can overcome the fact that you have no cellular service by using the radio link between both. You will have to setup the base station on known coordinates in order to do proper stakeout. These coordinates can be obtained from the RINEX logging and post-processing with Emlid Studio or online services. Maybe you will have to be careful about the coordinates system you want to work with. Where are you based ?

You can import a DXF file in Emlid Flow and Emlid Flow 360. On the free Standard plan, only points will be imported. If you want to stake out line objects, you will need paid Survey plan.

2 Likes

Hi Florian, thanks for the reply.

I am based in rural Vermont, USA. I am now realizing this part about having to set the base station on known coordinates point. I cannot figure out how to go about getting that point.