Newbie Question

I am very new to this and need some help choosing the right system. My main oibjective to acheive ground elevation data with accuracy <10mm. I was planning to buy use two Reach RS+ as a base and rover, get static readings and post process. Most my elevations will be recorded in the streets of suburbs with houses, trees around me. Even with readings of 15-30 min and post-process, do I still need to consider getting a L2 system? Or will post process and longer reading able to combat the multipath errors?

Your standard could be difficult to achieve consistently even with a multifrequency system. That kind of accuracy might require a total station depending on how obstructed your points are.

Hi @shr27,

Sorry for the delayed response!

These conditions are too difficult for the single-band receivers like Reach RS+. I’d recommend checking out our Reach RS2 multi-band receiver.

However, please pay attention to the accuracy Reach RS2 could provide in PPK:

• H: 5 mm + 0.5 ppm
  • V: 10 mm + 1 ppm

As Gabriel advised, your survey might require a total station for consistent measurements.

Thank you for the response. I checked my accuracy standards and it is actually >25mm. I am leaning towards reach rs2 now, but I was curious as to how the coverage performs under tree canopy. Also, do you recommend using a base/rover or rover/VRS combination for better accuracy and coverage under canopy. I will have good 3G/4G coverage.

I completely rely on total stations right now, but I am tired of having to traverse miles to reach a NGS survey marker.

Hi @shr27,

If you have an NTRIP station in the 60-km range, you can work with the Reach RS2 rover only.