Newbie here

Hello-

I recently took delivery of two RS2s that I will use for RTK. I have been through the quick start and documentation and think I’m missing something pretty basic.

Here is what I have done so far:

1. Downloaded ReachView for iOS as well as Android.
  2. Followed first time directions for updates to the RS2s, this involved switching over to my local Wifi network **** questions on this follow ****
  3. Renamed them as Base and Rover
  4. Set up the base and rover as directed, to use LoRa for rover corrections.
  5. Base is initially set to use NRTIP for its position by fix average. For the NTRIP fix I use my local Wifi as in ***** above.
  6. Rover gets a fixed position just fine over LoRa in my home office testing (both base and rover still on my local Wifi ****)
  7. In the field I will plan to use either a SIM card in the base or my phone hotspot for the initial base position with NTRIP. Then what?
  8. ***** Once I have my averaged fix position for the base, should I then turn off Wifi and mobile on the base?
  9. ***** When I am in the field and away from any Wifi, I assume that the base doesn’t need Wifi (or mobile date) as it already has its position from above. Further, I assume that the rover doesn’t need Wifi or mobile data because it is getting corrections from LoRa.

Please correct me on any errors in my thinking or procedures above.

The problem I’m seeing while testing base and rover around my home office (outside) is that base and rover are sometimes unreachable. I created some stakeout points in WGS1984 for testing with the rover. These appear correctly on the map in the survey tab after I uploaded the CSV file. When I use survey to go to these points, the response is jerky and slow… I would expect the map positions to update as I walk to the stakeout points but that’s not the case. The rover also loses contact with the ReachView app periodically.