New to Reach: Can 2x Reach RS function as a 20000$ pro RTK GS?

Hi everybody
I’m a biologist struggling with getting precise GPS coordinates for many a project. We don’t have funding for ‘common’ expensive setup at 15-25000 $, so I’m looking for alternatives.
Thus my question is:
Is the Reach RS as precise (or similar) to the expensive setups regarding accuracy of coordinates? Are all we need really just a Reach RS as groundstation an one as portable receiver? What is the expected accuracy and how can this be accomplished with such ‘cheap’ equipment?
Is it only working if the groundstation is placed on a spot with 100 % known coordinates, because where should we then get those? I have looked in different forums but can’t seem to get a straight answer.

I hope you can clarify this :slight_smile:
Regards
Niels

Well…Basically yes.
And no, you dont have to use a base station, VRS ntrip service would work too
How accurat do you need coordinates?
More expensive gear has L2 band and can under certain conditions perform better then L1 only gear.
But Reach has more then fair chance to do many of the same tasks

1 Like

We are not road engineers, so we are talking within 5 cm precision.
Is this obtainable with two Reach modules (either RS or just the small module) without using correctional services like VRS? Here in Denmark our professional correction service is very expensive per year thus rendering it unusable for us. We really need a sub 5 cm precise setup which is independent of ‘outside’ corrections.

Example of usage could be:
Recording GCP’s (static) for mapping but not necessarily with the one RTK module attached to a drone.
We make precise maps of landuse and analysis on vegetation (and a lot more), along with height models (DTM/DEM).

Artig, du er fra Danmark, da forstår du litt Norsk? :wink:
Anyways, Reach could easly be used for your kind of work. You probably have fix points around in your country, like us?
You could use them either RTK or PPK

1 Like