New to navio+

So I’m awaiting my Navio+. I’ve run pixhawks and apm before and quit familiar to mission planner. BUT I’m new to raspberry pi. Just not sure how all of it is going to come together. am i correct to assume that i just assemble the pi and the navio+, insert the sd card. and configure the setup via radio or wifi, then the unit is ready to fly? Im assuming that APM firmware is already installed.if I get a wifi dongle in the mean time, can i to get configured? Is there a step by step tutorial some where. i have been poring through the docs reading all i can about the rpi and the Navio+. Any help is appreciated.

Click the DOCS link and look at Navio+ hardware setup. The two significant differences from Pixhawk are:

1. The “firmware” is a Linux program. So you skip that part of setup (it does not “download” via the GCS software, you do that yourself in Linux). Choice of frame type is made by the particular variant of the executable you run, e.g. plane/copter-quad/hex/etc… All the other parts of setup are done the same way via the Mission Planner or APM Planner 2 software.
  2. The RC receiver is not powered from the mainboard. The servo rail is completely isolated as a power output, so another BEC/ESC 5v input is required to get not only servos (as with Pixhawk) but also the RC receiver running (unlike Pixhawk).
  3. You can use the BEC on the servo rail as a failover input, but you can’t connect multiple inputs. With Pixhawk this had similar limitations, but I would be more careful with Navio. So double-check all but one of your ESCs has the power cable removed from the servo connector, if they have built-in BECs.
  4. If you do have servos, then don’t expect one motor ESC to power them properly. All devices have a limit, so if you have gimbal servos or something like that, best get a separate BEC with a higher output (I guess the design of most ESCs is to provide just enough power for a receiver).