Need for base station?

Hi,

I’m totally new to all of this. I’m considering purchasing a mavic 3M drone with an RTK module.
I’m getting a little confused about the use of base stations with and without a modem vs just using a Network Correction Service.

Can someone explain to me if a base station is even required if the drone RTK module is connected to a local Netwrok Correction Service? Advantages and disadvantages?

I’m just having a hard time trying to understand things with base stations and local correction services and which one to chose, or if I need both. Also the modem or no modem receivers is a bit confusing as well.

Is anyone able to clarify these concepts and questions for me because my small brain is having trouble understanding it all!

Hi Michael,

To obtain centimeter-accurate coordinates on your RTK drone, you need to provide it with corrections. As a source of corrections, you can use either your own base or corrections from the local NTRIP Service.

Getting corrections from the NTRIP service requires a stable internet connection at your work site. Also, you need to ensure you have NTRIP stations in the 60 km range for RTK. Plus, keep in mind that NTRIP services sometimes charge a fee.

Using your own base station, for example, Reach RS3, helps you not depend on these factors. You can place the base in a convenient location for you. It’ll shorten the baseline, which is good for results. To pass the corrections via the internet, you can use the free Emlid Caster. But you can also use the local NTRIP feature and pass the corrections without the internet. Here you can find a more detailed guide about the possible integration.

3 Likes

That’s very helpful, Thankyou.

So, if I’m just using a rover receiver (say an RS3), then I am required to have access to a local NTRIP service provider to get accurate georeferenced data points?