Navio2 + Pi4 (Copter), Mission Planner SITL

Hello all,

Hardware:
Pi 4 8GB
Navio 2

I am currently working on an autonomous drone for school.
I currently have my Navio2 mounted on my pi.

I am able to connect to my Navio/Pi through udp and I am able to see GPS, and IMU data sent to Mission planner on my windows machine.

I was able to get SITL to run on my Linux machine (separate device) and run a basic mission with QCGroundControl.

My question is am I able to do something similar where I can test the Navio using SITL/HITL?
Will this prove to have any benefits?

How does one go about running missions once the drone is complete from the GCS?

I am extremely new to all of this, and my Network protocol knowledge isn’t great (for connecting to the GCS from the drone).
I a sorry if this is confusing at all.

Hi Michael,
can’t answer all of your question but at least some.
Re. network communication: UDP is designed for telemetry transfer from a remote, and most likely moving object. (Drone, plane, helicopter,rocket,…).
You can think of it as a one way street (with some foot-traffic going the other way). The data is mostly just sent from the remote object without any confirmation if it has been received or not. This is different to all other data communication as usual the receiver has to confirm each data package as being received and if not a request has to be sent back to repeat last data package in order to ensure a full and correct data stream. Whilst it is possible to sent some signal back to remote device, there is no certainty if it was really successful or not. Hence not a good idea to use UDP for controlling a remote device.
If you want to control a device with your Base Station I would recommend using TCP as this is a more regular form of communication and ensures correct data streaming both ways. (Two way street)