Navio2 , Mission planner, AP lidar A2

Before creating a new thread please refer to the documentation for Navio2 and Navio+.

In case you are creating a thread about an issue it is necessary to provide following information to get help:

I am using Ardurover 3.4.2 , i am trying to connect a RP Lidar A2 through the UART on the NAVIO2 board. My issue is that i do not know how to access the UART port through mission planner. Most of the boards/documentation i have read tell me to use the SERIAL_4 but i am not getting any data. Sorry if i did not provide enough information. I am very new to robotics and doing this for a school project. Thank you for any help on the subject

You should run ardurover 3.5 to fully use a 360° lidar.
Serial ports are assigned to the ardurover executable via startup options.
You could just use option -C for serial1 which is normally used for a telemetry radio and change the parameters in ardurover to suit the rplidar.

1 Like

Thank you for your help, I have tried to upgrade the firmware to 3.5 but I cannot get the navio to show up on any comport I can only connect wirelessly through mavlink, I am trying to plug the pi into the computer with a micro usb is this the correct way to connect to update to 3.5?

Hi @bryant.jackson,

You can upgrade the firmware using this command:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

It’s also possible to reflash the SD card with the latest raspbian image using Etcher.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your help !

1 Like

I have done the sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade but cannot get ardurover 3.5 to show up at all, running navio2 with rpi B3. Need 3.5 for wheel encoder support. Should I just do a fresh install?

Hi @Matthew_Cunningham,

Yes, please try to reflash RPi using the link I shared above.

@tatiana.andreeva