Navio 2 driver for raspbian?

I’m using Raspberry Pi 3 and Navio 2 for a real time drone project where the latency is a major concern. I wanted to use Fully Preemptible Kernel on Emlid image, but there does not seem to be any real-time patch for version 4.4.36 (Is the kernel source code here?). So I started with a stock Raspbian 4.4.50.

I found this rcio-dkms repository which seems to be the drivers for Navio 2. I cross-compiled it and it installed fine. Using lsmod I can see the rcio_core and rcio_spi are running. However, when I start PX4 the PWM is not working properly.

ERROR [linux_pwm_out] PWM period failed
ERROR [linux_pwm_out] PWM: Failed to open duty_cycle.
ERROR [linux_pwm_out] PWM output init failed

The Raspbian I’m using is Linux raspbian 4.4.50-rt63-v7+ #2 SMP PREEMPT. I want to know if I’m doing anything wrong or installing this module is not enough to make Navio 2 run on raspbian? This is my first time compiling a driver for linux, any help would be appreciated.

Or if anyone can tell me how to enable Fully Preemptible Kernel on Emlid image 4.4.36-a7765e7-emlid-v7+ #41 would be awesome as well.

Thank you.

Update:
I just compiled the emlid-stable-4.4 kernel from source, this does not seem to have drivers for Navio 2 as well?

Hi Jiyang,

Have you figured it out?

Hi Tatiana,

Unfortunately, I’m still trying to figure this out.

Basically, I think there are two choices. I can try to make the drivers work on a customized RT patched raspbian. However, the rcio-dkms I found on emlid github repository does not seem to work well. The following shows when inspecting with dmesg

rcio spi1.0: rcio_gpio: GPIO is not supported on this firmware
rcio spi1.0: rcio_pwm: Error in pwm running count

My second choice is to patch a Emlid raspbian or just configure it to be fully-preemptible. But the source code in github seems to be outdated and does not have drivers either.