M2 Warranty

I have been using Emlid Products in my surveying business for several years, and with the RS2, we’ve been having great success. I originally started with 2 RS2’s, one as a base on a known point, the second as the rover for fieldwork. That was great for starters, but I decided to replace the “base” with an M2. It seemed to make sense since it is permanently mounted. The M2 was installed indoors and has never seen the light of day. I streamed corrections perfectly. 8 months later, after great success, I purchased a second M2. The second was installed at another location, mounted indoors in a clean environment. I now had 2 base stations stream ntrip data to 2 rovers and I was very excited. But 2 days later, my original M2 failed. I realize that these devices can’t have a lifetime warranty, and I realize that a lot of them are flying around on a drone, but this devise was treated like a baby and never exposed extreme temperatures, moisture or shock. I’m disappointed that after only 8 months this device failed, and the warranty is only 60 days. I’m looking for alternatives, but it’s really a shame, as I was really enjoying and had planned on a few more to expand my service area.

1 Like

Maybe contact support@emlid.com and see what they say?

You’ll have to provide them the details of course including the power supplied to it.

Seems many have had much longer life than 8 months.

Given the nature of the device and how some DIYers may incorrectly use it, i.e. overvoltage it, it’s understandable as to why it has less warranty than a much more expensive RS2/+/3 that is ready to go as-is in a outdoor-grade self contained unit.

The price is also much less being multi-band at that.

You’d be hard pressed to find other solutions at such a reasonable price, best user interface and user ecosystem / support.