M2 LLH for Geotagging

Hello all,

Last year my team decided to fly the M2 as an independent logging system on our Matrice 600 Pro. The idea was that the pictures on our Micasense cameras would be timestamped correctly via the DLS2. Then after the mission, we could take the LLH log with it’s timestamps, and rewrite new geotags to the .tiff imagery by matching up timestamps with the nearest time.

However, we ended up with a problem. After plotting the geotags from the Micasense cameras, and the gps location stream from the M2 LLH file, the timestamps for a given location are wildly different. We have noticed a nearly consistent 19s time difference between an image and its closest gps datapoint.

We have noticed this consistent error with Micasense and an ICI camera. Is there a standardized way to use LLH to replace the geotags of already-geotagged imagery? And what could cause this time difference?

I am a novice to PPK/RTK geotagging, so please forgive my lack of knowledge.

Hi @peterscache12,

I’m not familiar with the Micasense camera with DLS2. How do you integrate this with M2? Could you please share pictures of your setup?

Reach M2 can record time marks to the raw data logs with microsecond resolution relative to the signal on the camera’s hot shoe.

Also, I want to note that the time stored in the image’s EXIF is the creation date (the time it was stored), not the time it was recorded. Therefore, there will be a difference between when the image was taken and when it was written in the EXIF header.

The LLH file is the position log of the Reach device, and without knowing the accurate time of when the image was taken, I believe it would be hard to interpolate the time in the LLH and the image. Further, the drone’s GPS clock should also be synchronized with Reach M2 to make this work.

1 Like

Thanks @ruth.bongon for the response. I’ll attempt to explain further.