M+,Tuffwing Snapkit, P4P

Greetings to the Emlid Community. I have enjoyed reading the posts!

I have been flying 4 years, and have my 107 cert. As a drone mapping beginner, I am still trying to wrap my mind around all the details of first flight which I plan today.

I have added a Tuffwing PPK Snapkit to my Phantom 4 Pro which attaches one M+, & antenae to the P4P drone. A shutter hotshoe is included which attaches to the drone as well. I have 2 Reach M+ units. One for the drone, One for the base. I have 4 GCP’s I want to try out as well. The step by step instructions at Tuffwing seem quite complete, but I want to be well prepared as possible before liftoff!

Here are few questions for the community:

*Would terrain follow in my Dronelink flight plan help the mapping mission as it follows AGL elevation contours & keeps the drone at a more constant distance from the ground during flight?

*Do either BASE or ROVER need a wifi hotspot connection at any point during the job/flight?

*Can we use Emlid Studio for post processing instead of the expensive pay software such as EZ SURV, and Field Genius?

Thank you.

Welcome Eric! Congrats and condolences for getting into the PPK world. JK it’s not as bad as it seems up front.

1. I think terrain following is important once you get a 10m variance in the site elevations. The goal is to keep your GSD as consistent as possible so any time there are steep slopes or areas with a long consistent slope TF will allow the processing to create more tie-points because what it is seeing matches better.
  2. The only reason you would need internet is if you are running RTK and need to either cast your base or pick up another base via NTRIP. You are going to be doing onsite PPK so the best scenario is to have a known point but you can also just average in a point and correct everything later if you need to be on a specific coordinate system.