L5 signal support on RS3

Hi,

Newbie here. I’m wanting to purchase 2 RS3 receivers, but am curious if they support L5 signals? Does anyone know if these units currently support L5 or if Emlid has plans to integrate L5 into the RS5 units in the future?

No, L1 & L2 only.

Specs:

GNSS

• Signal tracked
    GPS/QZSS L1C/A, L2C,
    GLONASS L1OF, L2OF,
    BeiDou B1I, B2I, Galileo
    E1B/C, E5b

RS3 just came out, so would assume gonna be awhile if Emlid’s future plans would include L5 L6 etc. Which personally I wish they would have already by now. There are other much more expensive receivers that do which perform much better in harder to FIX conditions.

Seems to me the next model would go this route along with TILT. They may milk it with a RS3+ model before doing so. I.e. RS4?

2 Likes

Yes, it seems like the GPS satellites are getting L5 support more and more now. L5 has been around for a couple of years already hasn’t it?
I’m needing a receiver capable of taking points under tree canopies. I’m reading that L1, L2 capable receivers just don’t cut it in comparison to L5 capable receivers. Any comments?

1 Like

Hi Michael,

Welcome to our forum!

I can second @timd1971’s words: Reach RS3 doesn’t track the GPS L5 band. Its support can’t be delivered via firmware updates because it’s related to the hardware limitation.

Indeed, but only 18 of 24 GPS satellites broadcast L5 so far. Reach RS3 is a multi-band receiver that works in challenging conditions, but dense tree canopies will cause challenges with getting the FIX solution. It applies to any multi-band receiver.

I’d note there’s no guarantee that the receiver capable of tracking L5 will be a remedy for this because many other factors are behind the scenes. Among them are current satellite geometry and multipath, ionospheric disturbances, RTK engine performance, and so on.

2 Likes