Known position of base

I am new to all this and trying to understand it all and had a couple questions.
We are going to do some drone 3d mapping and will be placing some GCPs.
From my understanding we use a base and a rover to get the locations for the GCPs. But for accurate real world GPS we need to put the base over a (known position).

Question 1 : Can the reach base figure out it’s own “known true location” ? From my reading I thinking we would we just leave it there 4+ hours and record raw data and use PPP to figure out the true location? Then we could manually enter it into the base and start using it with rovers? Or would we have to hire a survey guy with a l2 device to figure out a “known location” ?

Question 2 : If I wanted to permanently make a “know location”. for example a small concrete 1ftx1ft square with X on it. And wrote down the “known location” would I need to subtract the distance from the concrete marker to the antenna used to obtain the “known location”. Like if the reach device got the known location wouldn’t it be off by the height of where ever the reach antenna was for the next person using the concrete maker?

1 Like

PPP would give you ~30cm accuracy. Dont you have ntrip serivce you can log on to? or a known position somewhere?

The coordinate for the concrete mark/bolt/pin should be true. Like on top of the measured area. Not 2m above or with any offset.

I live in tx and the rtk Network here is owned by the Department of Transportation and they don’t let anyone use it. All of the other services seem to want a lot of money per month I’m trying to do this for cheap as possible. So using PPP at the base station wouldn’t get me what’s considered a true location? The place I’m doing at at is in the middle of nowhere. I wouldn’t even know where to look for known locations.

1 Like