IMU in conjunction with GNSS for inertial navigation?

I’m curious to hear if anyone has tried using acceleration/rotation data off the IMU as an adjuvant to GNSS for navigation. I’m interested in building a copter that can hover without much drift, so will require navigation below the accuracy of the GNSS. Does anyone have any data or practical experience using the IMU for navigation?

1 Like

Hello, I am newbie to Navio and Rasperri PI. I want to log the raw GNSS/GPS data from ublox T series or other unit, and the IMU raw data on memory device to perform a post-processing inertial navigation system. I have seen a thread on RTK that I must follw to do it for my UAV but I am wondering what is the first steps to achieve my goal? To get log raw data from GPS, time stams and IMU on Navio. Do I learn Phyton, Linux…? At the moment I have some experience only with Arduino, I will like upgrade to Galileo Intel but It could be the wrong way

Thanks

You can do this using a kalman or complimentary filter. Both are a way to combine data from several sensors to get a better measurement than what each individual sensor can deliver. The kalman filter can also use a mathematical model of the copter (how it reacts to acceleration etc) and the pilot inputs to give you a better estimation. The math is not that complicated and it’s by nature an iterative filter.
Here’s a tutorial: Simon D. Levy – Computer Science Department, Washington and Lee University

Now on the more practical side of things you have to understand and take care of these: