I don't understand Post Processing

I have a Reach RS2 that I use as a rover only. For 90 percent of my projects it’s great. I’m in an open field and I usually get a Fix.

I have a few jobs in which I am in either an area of poor cell service or surrounded by trees and the best I can get is a Float.

I’m in Florida and I have a subscription to the FDOT’s FPRN that I use.

My issues

• For starters, I’m not even 100 percent sure that the Emlid Studios post processing stuff is going to get what I want out of it. I’m trying to take elevation readings on an earthen berm for a report.

• For this job I had to place my position about a half mile from my work area to get a download from the nearest FPRN base station

• I downloaded the raw data files from my rover and I am pretty sure I uploaded all of the correct files to the studio but it looks like it just shows me where I walked out there and not the points that I collected. They are also all still on Float so I either didn’t do something correctly or I misunderstood the entire point of post processing.

I’m obviously not a surveyor, just work for a small company that is trying to use this unit for jobs where there’s not a budget for a real survey or it is impractical.

I don’t know if there is a youtube series or better documentation that provides more of a step by step solution for this than what is on the support pages but any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hi !

Post processing as-is will process the raw data to compute a position or a trajectory. Each data available in the file is processed, so that is why you see where you walked, basically.

I think you are looking for the Stop & Go feature, which is also available in Emlid Studio. If you import the CSV file of your Survey, it will replace the points coordinates with those obtained in the post-processing step. Pretty cool.