How accurate can a single RS+ get over time?

Hi All. I just picked up an RS+ and I’m trying to get an idea of how accurate of a position I can get with just the one unit. I understand there are methods (NTRIP, two units, etc.) that can get cm grade measurements, but I am interested in what the unit can do alone for a single position over a long period of time. For example, if it’s in “base mode” and I do not move it for an hour or so, will it get more accurate? Can I find a single location on the ground to within cm accruacy? I’m new to this field so thanks for the input.

https://geodesy.noaa.gov/NGSDataExplorer/

What are we looking at that relates to the the OP’s question? All I see is a controls map?

“Can I find a single location on the ground to within cm accruacy? I’m new to this field so thanks for the input.”

I think he’s talking about setting up the base, averaging a point and wondering if that point will ever be centimeter accurate according to the rest of the world or “official” sources, but I see where this information would be handy besides that in order to check in.

1 Like

Yes, that is the intention behind my question.

Bryan’s post is a great resource if you happen to be near any of those and can either check into them or alleviate the need for averaging and just setup on their know coordinates. With the + models you would have to be pretty close though.

This is why when you do certified work you end up using an optical instrument and an auto-level. Sometimes we get close enough to get the horizontal with GPS, but we still run a level.

A was reading a separate post, and one of the users made a recommendation that a single rs unit could get a relatively accurate reading but that it would have to be left in single mode for like 8 hours. I was curious if that sounds right to you, and what level of accuracy that would have. Thanks for the resource by the way, I am walking out to a few today to scout them out :slight_smile: