Help understanding importance of wifi in the field

I have just ordered two Reach RS2 receivers which I am hoping to use to do RTK surveying when they arrive. I am very new to GPS surveying and I need some clarity. I have read many of the documents on the website and I have gone through several post in this forum. I understand how important it is to connect to wifi when I am setting up the receivers so I can obtain the latest firmware etc. But when I am taking the units in the field to work. Do I still need a wifi connection and if so what would be its purpose. Could I not use a Sim card in the base receiver to receive the corrections from my local CORS station and then transmit my corrections from the base to the rover via Lora Radio. Why do I need wifi or why do I need to create a hotspot with my phone in the field. In my country, when other surveyors are operating their other brands of GPS receivers, they do so without using wifi so this is why I am a bit confused. Hope someone can clarify this for me.

2 Likes

Hello, welcome to the forum.

afaik, if you’re using something else (than wifi) to receive/transmit corrections (you’re mentioning Lora), the wifi is only needed for configuring the RS2, or if you want to use the built-in survey functionality (Survey features in the reachview web/android/iPone-app). If you’re using the rover-RS2 only for providing position to some other software/hardware over bluetooth/serial/… then the wifi is not needed (except for this configuration).

Your base is generating the correction-data that need to be sent to the rover (via Lora), so even the sim is not needed in the base.
You do have to determine the exact base-position once (and configure/save it in the base-RS2). For this you could use the sim and local CORS, or you could just capture a significant amount of raw logs, and post-process it to get an accurate base-position.