GPS plot points conversion to shape files

I am a farmer and want to use the plot points to make fields and import the shape files into my crop software.

Is there conversion software that will join the plot points to make a boundary for a field.

Thanks

1 Like

You could log LLH at the rover and then convert the .llh text file to shapefile via ESRI or QGIS. The. String the point shapefile to a line using the time field as sort order.

1 Like

The LLH won’t be corrected though.

I would take the corrected POS file, use RTKPost to convert to GPX, and then convert that GPX to shapefile. I think QGIS can do that conversion

1 Like

Hi,

As im new to most of this where would I find the POS file is that the shape file i can currently export via the app anyway?

Thanks

Hi @sam2,

There are some possible ways to accomplish that. First, could you share which crop software you’re using? It might have some import settings that can shed some light on alternatives for this workflow.

The method you’re using to collect your data is also crucial for providing advice. If you’re logging your points with Reach, you’ll have POS or LLH files available to work with. If you’ve created an Emlid project and are manually collecting your points, you can export them to CSV or Shapefile for later import into third-party software.

I’ll assume you’re logging your data since that’s common in farming applications.

You can download your logs from Reach in the logging menu of your Emlid Flow app. This is also where you can set your preferences. If you need help, check this guide.

Once you have your points file (either from logging or Emlid project export), you can import it into GIS software like QGIS or ArcGIS. The further steps on how to do that will vary, but I can assist you with that once I know more about your current workflow.