Geotagging Solution For drones using Reach

Hi guys ,
Im new to Reach and i have not yet got my hands on a Reach GNSS. I was thinking is it possible for the Reach GNSS to communicate with the camera that will be used in the Mapping so as to geo tag the photos then and there at the time of trigger and reduce the burden of geotagging. I came across Drotag - (https://www.airborneprojects.com/product/drotag-onboard-image-tagging-computer/) . I thought Reach could do the same because it has a GPS, IMU and a Linux computer. The Drotag also uses the opensource library(open-source project libgphoto2) for PTP and take photos from camera and store the geotagged photo in the sd card. can this be done in Reach ? If yes then some one can throw some light on to it. Please im looking for some possible solution using Reach.

Hi!

Yes, you could connect Reach with your camera and take photos with geotags.
Read our community experience in this field, please.

You could also use forum search tool and find more about integration Reach with camera :slight_smile:

1 Like

I dont want to download logs from Pixhwak. I want Reach to log its GPS and IMU data when the camera is triggered . Is it possible to do in Reach?

Reach does exactly that. It is perfectly suited for geotagging pictures. Currently it will not do this on-the-fly and there is a good reason for that. By capturing precise time stamp for each picture we are able to extract positions by means of post-processing, which does not require constant radio communication and thus is more simple and robust. There are many users doing picture tagging for photogrammetry, check out their stories by following the link by @andrew.yushkevich.

Thank you
but is it also possible for REACH to communicate with the camera which have PTP compliace and geotag the data on the fly in the camera or Reach’s itself ?
No need of postprocessing in that case right? Just import the photos directly in Pix4d or Agisoft or anyother software.