First setup with Navio+ wobbles

Hey guys, I’m a newbie who just finished setting up my first quad using Navio+.
Here’s my parts list. FYI, I’m planning on upgrading the cheap Turnigy 5ch radio to Turnigy 9ch,

HobbyKing 20A BlueSeries Brushless Speed Controller
4108-380KV Turnigy Multistar 22 Pole Brushless Multi-Rotor Motor With Extra Long Leads
Carbon Fiber Propellers 13X6.5 LH and RH Rotation Pair
Turnigy Talon Carbon Fiber Quadcopter Frame
Multistar High Capacity 4S 4000mAh Multi-Rotor Lipo Pack
Turnigy 5X 5Ch Mini Transmitter and Receiver (Mode 1)

- YouTube

I followed the steps in http://copter.ardupilot.com/ and went through all the steps in first setup.
I calibrated my ECSs, RC, compass, and accelerometer accordingly.
So I tried my first flight today and I noticed that when I give some throttle for the quad to hover
(50cm~100cm above ground), it wobbles dramatically towards either right or back.
At the moment, I don’t have channel 7 on my radio, so I haven’t tried Auto Trim yet.

So my questions to you guys are,

1. When you first flew your copter, did it tend to shift dramatically to one side?
    I thought the calibration process and the accelerometer inside Navio+ did some self correction in Stabilize mode. I don’t have GPS connected at the moment.

2. If it’s so difficult to maintain position, how would one go about doing Save / Auto trim?
    It says Auto trim can be done on ground without flying. Any comments on that?

Thanks a lot for your reading and help. I hope to post some awesome videos once I get stable hover.
Cheers.

Jason

It should not drift to the side like this. It is normally quite stable in stabilize mode with default settings and easy to control.

I would double check the following:

Is each motor/ESC connected to the correct channel?
Is each motor/ESC turning to correct way?
Is each prop mounted on the correct motor?
Is the NAVIO+ orientated correctly?

Once you are absolutely sure this is correct. I would look at ESC calibration.