Emlid Ntrip Server with Topcon Hiper VR

Can I Connect my Hiper VR with a Emlid Ntrip Server ?

I haven’t tried it yet but I don’t think it’s device specific,. Why wouldn’t it work ?

I tried it today but didn’t get it to work. Maybe it’s something I am doing wrong. I Did notice my mount point was not showing up as an option. I have a paid ntrip subscription with topcon, but trying to see if I can replace it for this free one.

Hi @rramos,

Do you mean Emlid Caster? This is our NTRIP caster, which allows transmitting corrections via the Internet from your base to the rover. Emlid Caster should work smoothly with both Reach and 3rd-party receivers that support corrections in RTCM3 format.

Just want to add that Emlid Caster doesn’t provide corrections per se. It’s just the way of transmitting them using the NTRIP protocol. So to connect your rover to the created mount point, you need to set correction output to it from your base first.

You can also read more about the difference between NTRIP Caster and NTRIP Service in this article from our blog.

Ohh ok, yeah I was trying to connect to Ntrip from Virginia. Is my first time hearing about Emlid do you guys provide a subscription that connect to state Ntrip services without having am Emlid product?

If you want the states Ntrip services you connect to the states Ntrip caster.

If you own an rs2 you set it up as a base, and link it to Emlids ntrip caster. You can now use emlid caster to get corrections from the RS2 base you have set up.

If you have a rover capable of using rtcm3 corrections, it would link to either.

So all of our equipment are from topcon and we pay 2500 a year for their Nstrip service. Which allows me to use my rover without any base set up. If I purchase a rs2 for around the same price can I use it as a stand alone Rover without any yearly subscription ?

The answer to that all depends on your requirements, where you are working, what type of work you are doing, the expected accuracy of the work.