DroneDeploy and Reach RS?

Hello everyone.
I’m new to RTK/GCP, I have a few questions.

1. Can I use the Reach RS to get GCP’s that i upload to DroneDeploy??

2. Are the GCP locations measured in WGS84 (EPSG Code: 4326) ??

3. Do I need 2 Reach RS’s to get 5-10 GCP’s??

4. Will the GCP’s after processing by DroneDeploy give me centimetre accurate maps??

Thank you.

DroneDeploy and Reach RS?
That is the perfect marriage😊
I am sorry cos i also newbi to this tech, but from my walkarround on this great forum i can clearly see that your requirement is the simple job for reach. I suggest you to go much further on this forum…

1 Like

Hi,
I am also thinking of using a rech and reach RS combination with my drone (mostly out of curiosity right now). As far as I see you may have several things to consider:

To 1: sure, you can use it. It is an precise GPS, but…

• To have a good relative position you need to have two units. One is a fixed station that is just collecting the GPS signals and calculate errors due to atmospheric conditions and so on.
    In this case you will be having exact distances from this base station, but it may be still very much from the real coordinates. So there are issues when you want to use this data for general georeferencing, but it may help in the stitching process.

• If you have the exact known position of your Base station, you can enter it in the settings and will have exact, real coordinates. This can be a ground reference point nearby. Here in my City we have a known coordinate points which is directly accessible, to check GPS receivers and so on. You would need to check that for each place you fly

• There are already basestation networks which the reach could possibly use, but these are sometimes only accessible for a fee, you need to find the nearest basestaion and it has to be nearby (within 10km or so). So your place to work will be somewhat limited of you need to rely on an existing basestation network and one Reach Unit.