Drone newbie question

From what I understand, typically one mounts a M+ to their drone to obtain sub cm GNSS accuracy using drone mapping software etc.

I guess without it, you’re just relying on typical GPS accuracy such as maybe within 5m or so (like a iPhone/Android phone), depending on the model of the drone of course.

If I were to purchase a RS2 (as a base and probably another for ROVER RTK work), would it be better to wait for a future version of the M+ for a drone that has multi-frequency capability like the RS2? (Maybe it would be called M2 as a wild guess?)
Would this open up the possiblility of RTK using the drone (with RS2 Base) versus PPK later?
I know I can just as well get a M+ and a RS2, but I am guessing it would better to get a multi-freq solution for the drone as I am no hurry.

Just curious as all, as again a complete newbie to drones, PPK etc. I use (2) RS receivers currently for RTK and works just fine for my purpose, but I may have the need for drone work soon and yet another thing to learn… which is fine. ; )

Thanks guys!

1 Like

Emlid has been quiet on the multi-frequency Reach M+ but we gotta know its coming… If it were me I would purchase two RS2s and for the price of the M+ get that too. Most of the time I have a solid fix when up in the sky with the single frequency as is. Use the RS2s for base and GCPs/Checkpoints.

The only time I have issues with the M+ during flight is when I incorrectly startup and/or not let log for sufficient time before launching. Laying GCPs I can do without especially on 1,000 acre plus sites, smaller sites not bad at all and can generally get done in the time it takes me to PPK. But honestly the only time I have issues with the single frequency RS units are points near buildings and trees. To account for this I just don’t put a GCP under a tree…