Does Emlid Flow provide heading and distance when recording points

I am new to the Emlid Flow app and was wondering if the app provides the heading of movement away from a collected point and the distance traveled from that point. I am trying to lay out a smaller field inside the boundaries of a larger field and need to match the heading of the larger field boundary without having to walk back and forth and taking distance measurement from a mapped line and have to change the line points. For example: if larger field left side boundary has a heading of 359.8 degrees, and I need to place the starting point of my smaller field 200 ft away from the left edge I want to be able to map a point at the large field left boundary and walk perpendicular (89.8 degrees) for 200 hundred feet to map my start point. Is this possible?

Yes if there are lines on the bigger boundry then you just stake along that line

OK that makes sense but is there a way to determine the heading as I use that information to guide our equipment through the field?

It would show this

2 Likes

Thanks David for the responses.
I have now figured out how to get to the step you have shown above.
I know To A is distance from the A point, and Offset is distance from the line.
What is the CUT distance represent?
Also I noticed that toggles between Cut and Fill, what does Fill represent?
Thanks again for the help.

The cut and fill shows the elevation of the line or point , cut means lower your reciever and fill means lift the reciever

OK that makes sense, if surveying to install a level pad you would need to know whether to add fill or cut out dirt that is there.

So kind of back to my original question then, there is no Heading shown in the Flow app correct?
Are there plans to add that as a feature in the near future?

Also Showing the active distance walking away from the last collected point would be another helpful option when collecting points or lines.

Thanks

Hi Mike,

Welcome to the forum!