Does anyone use structure studios?

I’m a pool builder so we use structure studios software to design our projects and create plans. We have an emlid rx and have been able to successfully take measurements of properties but we are having a hard time making that data usable in structure studios.

Structure is a 3d program so we hoped to do the following things.

1. Take accurate topography of a site on our first site visit
  2. Import that topo data into our design software. (Structure will import shape files but has no his functionality so we initially thought we’d use qgis to plot gis points and then make a topo map that we could bring into structure)
  3. When a project starts we’d like to be able to do our stakeout/layout with the rx.

Unless someone knows a better process I think it will take several different software tools to make this all happen.

Does anyone else do something similar?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Seems like you need to be able to create a Digital Terrain Model (DTM) in the field, then import that 3D mesh into your software. You will need to see exactly which formats the software will import and probably get help from the developer on that. Seems pretty common in that industry to have to work with DTMs.

But yes, there would be many ways to skin a cat here, but the easiest way of course.

I know many have asked for DTM features in Eml8d Flow, but its SLLLLLLLOOOOOOWWWW going with these things. There are other full featured software that are ready to go. I.e. Microsurvey FieldGenius for Windows (solid) and Android which is STILL work on progress. Yes more software to learn. They have a free 30 point limit demo u can try also.