Do I need an RC input to make the drone fly?

Hey guys, sorry for my stupidity in here, Im pretty new to this ardupilot and drone world, Im trying to make a simple vtol drone for some indoor hovering, and I would like to ask some questions to know if I can do this with navio2 and ardupilot.

First question would be: Do I need an RC input for flying indoors? Can I just use putty connectivity through wifi?

Second : Do I actually have to do anything or ardupilot is supposed to just do the control of the drone? (for a simple take off, hovering and landing for example)

Last question: If I want to make an unique design (like 3 motors with a different configuration or something like that), where can I modify the parameters of the code to input the data from my design (is it in c++ or python?) Or can I program my own controller using python or c++? (based on the examples on the developers sections of the DOCS page)
Thanks, and again, sorry if my questions seems stupid

Hi!

First: in theory you can use it without RC, but on practice you should always have an RC,
Second: Ardupilot can handle takeoff, hovering and landing automatically.
Last: Ardupilot is written in C++. Writing an autopilot from scratch is possible, but it is a big task, so I’d recommend to start with Ardupilot.

Hey, thank you so much for your answers. I have a feel follow up questions.
1.The rc input is needed only for the lag that may happen over wifi? Or is there any other reason?
2.this might sound dumb…but if I have an rc input, do I also have to get a controller? Or the commands can be send by the ardupilot on the computer?
3. If I end up buying a joystick, I haven’t seen one on the hsrdware recommendations on the docs page. Could you maybe suggest one? Do I need those fancy rc controllers or can I adapt something else?