Detecting missing events in event.pos files with Python

Hi everyone,

I use an Emlid M+ mounted in a UAV. For most of the flights, the events are equal to the number of images taken by the drone.

But in one case, I had an event less than the number of images. As I started learning the Python programming language a few months ago, it motivated me to try to create a script that could detect that missing event, so I can dismiss that particular image from the dataset.

This was the flight:

Trying to locate and then manually figuring out which number of image the missing event corresponds to, can take some time.

So I created a script that does it automatically.

Note: The texts on the screenshots are in Spanish as it is my native language.

The inputs are:

• The name of the events.pos file
  • The number of the first image
    input

And the outputs are:

• The number of “holes” detected.
  • Number of the first and last images of the dataset, to check that are equal to the images actually taken by the drone.
  • The images corresponding to the missing geotags.
  • A graph view with the “holes” and the number of image for every event.

After running the script with our example, we get the following results:

If we zoom in into the red circle we can see that the event for the image 2060 is missing here:

Testing the script on a file where several events are missing.

If I manually create more “missing events” in the same .pos file to check how the script works, I get the following results:

Testing the script on a file where no event is missing.

And if I run the script in an event.pos file that has no missing event, I get the following:

So we can see that it works well with different scenarios.

Here is the link to the repository in case someone wants to try it out (it is recommended to use a python IDE):