Data Repeatability. Confusing Results

I’ve read all responses in Big issue with data repeatability - position error over 10cm - #42 by sat

However, I encountered even more severe issues than those presented in the above-mentioned thread. I wonder if someone can point me in the right direction because I am not sure what I am doing incorrectly with these units.

First off, I am new to most things survey-related, and RS3 units are new. Thus, please comment in short and simple sentences as to speak.

Setup is basic. One RS3 as base and another RS3 as rover.

The base setup I tried as average fix or single fix, even tried to set up base with ntrip corrections.

Rover gets corrections via lora w/ tilt compensation on.

I collected points 7x times, base is always set on the exact same point at the exact same height. The results are baffling and confusing.

Every single time points are from 3 to 15 feet away from previously collected points. No pattern, no consistency. Every single time it is different. Seems that if I would be collecting points with my phone GPS it would be much more consistent. I am staking already poured building slab as a test.

I’ve attached an example of points collected this past Friday compared to today. Even the difference in height… How could these units produce such results?

Hi Dan, it seems like your base is using a different base marker each time you collect. If you’re averaging a single solution that would explain the 15 ft difference. If you set your base location manually using the same point each time, you’ll likely see much better results with your rover.

5 Likes

Am I misunderstanding the way this system works? I am setting base each time in the same location, however, I do not have monument with known coordiantes.

Also, if I will save base location data arbitrarily, will I not be using faulty position? Overall, GNSS unit without correction should have 1m of accuracy. 15-20 ft is way outside even most simple GPS receiver.