Custom geoid model or post conversion

Hi, i’m Alessio from Italy and i’m new in Emlid Comunity.
I’ve already bought an RS3, and while configuring it i’ve discovered that custom geoid model are not supported.
Specially here in italy, only EGM96 and 2008 are available as geoid model, which is not enough for any surveying purpose.

I need to use local geoid model, so my questions are:

• will be available in next updates of Flow app, the capability to upload custom tiff geoids? honestly, i thought a piece of equipment like the RS3 were up to upoload custom geoid by default… i bought it without asking this.
  • Is it possible to save points in ellipsoidal heights and then post process with studio app?
  • if not, which workflow or app should i use to convert my points with a tiff geoid model or a Z shift if the survey area are small?
  • for my region, there’s an official geoid model, given for free by the administration. Is it possible to ask to upload to the database?
1 Like

Hi @alessio.bonfante,

Welcome to the community! Before I answer questions 3 and 4, could you please tell me where your projects are located, and what geoid model you need support for?

For Italy, we support the global heights listed above and the following local heights:

• Genoa 1942(South Tirol) height
  • Italy ITG2009 height

At the moment we don’t support the upload of custom geoid models. But I’ve noted this as a feature request. I’ll let you know once we have updates on this.

Is it possible to save points in ellipsoidal heights and then post process with studio app?

It is not possible to transform coordinates in Emlid Studio. Emlid Studio is a software for post-processing data from GNSS receivers and RTK drones, not a coordinate transformation tool.

Hi Ruth, thank you for the reply.