Coordinate System for Surveyor Check Point

Hello,
My background is in medical image processing and reconstruction, so I know very little about surveying or global coordinate systems. Please forgive the noob question. Near my property in Colorado, there is a survey marker with the following annotation: N: 1541873.24. E: 3185246.27, Elev: 6786.6
I’m not familiar with this, and was curious if it could be converted to an absolute latitude/longitude. An answer or a pointer to a reference would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Hi Robert,

Do you know if the cords are meters or feet ?

You can use this, but find out what kind of units the cords are before using.

https://www.ngs.noaa.gov/NCAT/

Colorado uses the US Survey Foot

misc-tip-survey-coordinate-system.pdf (20.3 KB)

I’d say that has to be feet. Colorado’s not that big… :wink: I’m surprised they have 3 zones but everything I see is 1M,3M coords.

@mdesignz What town is this closest to?

NORTH (FIPS 0501)
NAD83 Latitude N404908.05429
NAD83 Longitude W1044950.61174
SPCS83 Zone 0501 CO N
SPCS Northing 1541873.240 sf
SPCS Easting 3185246.270 sf
Convergence 0 25 56.79
Scale Factor 1.0000060

CENTRAL (FIPS 0502)
NAD83 Latitude N391909.66174
NAD83 Longitude W1045042.72957
SPCS83 Zone 0502 CO C
Convergence 0 24 46.71
Scale Factor 0.9999431

SOUTH (FIPS 0503)
NAD83 Latitude N380911.03629
NAD83 Longitude W1045120.79905
SPCS83 Zone 0503 CO S
Convergence 0 23 42.55
Scale Factor 0.9999608

1 Like

Hello Bryan!
Thank you for the two references. I will check out both!

1 Like

Hello MichaelL!
Thank you for the reply. This is in Castle Rock, CO.

By the way, the feedback on this forum is terrific. Thanks to all of you for your help!

3 Likes