Control Navio+ directly from Pi

I’m just getting into quadcopters, so excuse any noobishness!

I recently got a quadcopter and I’ve been playing around with it, learning the platform, and developing a vision for what I want to do next. My grand scheme is to control the copter directly from a Raspberry Pi, with no traditional transmitter/receiver, instead purely over a network connection (4G modem or WiFi link) from a laptop and joystick.

It seems like the Navio+ is the best option for me, but I still have some questions not having actually used the platform. Can I send nuanced, real-time control inputs (roll, yaw, throttle, etc) to my quadcopter’s ESCs via the Navio board? I’m looking for a real-time piloting experience using the Pi instead of an RC receiver. I’ve only read about interfacing Ardupilot and the Pi via Mavlink, which doesn’t seem like a realistic way to achieve real-time piloting (but somebody correct me if I am wrong).

If anyone can point me towards existing open source projects attempting the same thing, that would also be very helpful.

Thank you!

The NAVIO+ is already all you need. Emlid integrated the Pi already by providing a board and drivers which integrate with APM, and open source drivers in case you want to program something else (perhaps there are alternatives in the future). Then we have almost the same range of outputs as Pixhawk (some not necessary like compass because it’s on the board), the main being the PWM for control of the usual multirotor/plane/rover ESCs/servos.