Connect M2 to the RS2 in a rover/base pairing (OFF GRID)

Hi!

I am a graduate student trying to use an Emlid Reach RS2 and M2 in a base/rover pairing.

I have set up the RS2 to collect and log data points for PPK processing with a Phantom 4 prov2 GNSS antenna receiver (logging RINEX files at 1 second intervals).

I would also like to set up the RS2 to act as a base station (while logging RINEX files) for my M2 while I am in the field to collect accurate RTK points.

I am trying to connect the RS2 and the M2 through the ReachView3 application and I am having some trouble. I don’t have a LoRa attachment for the M2, which I think might be the best way to do this, but I was wondering if anyone could help me out? Am I going about this the right way?

(I am also going to be off grid in the Canadian sub-artic doing these surveys so I do not think that NTRIP is a viable option for me). I am desperate for some help though, so I will take any advice!

Thank you!!

Being off the grid like that is the whole point of a local base. I would just bite the bullet and get the LoRa module for the M2 and use it as the base. How are you powering the M2?

Do you have a little more detail about the P4PV2 receiver? I would log the drone at least at 5Hz preferably 10Hz if your constellation visibility allows for it.

4 Likes

Shows on backorder from Emlid.com.

But hopefully the dealers have what you need!

Reach M2/M+ LoRa radio | Emlid Store

Emlid official dealers – where to buy Emlid products in US other countries

The P4PV2 reciever is a GNSS antenna that automatically logs data. Its from BAAM Tech, it was installed on the drone prior to my project starting, so that is what I have set up from the drone stand point. I don’t nessesarily have an issue with that (yet).