Config REACH with a fixed IP over LAN

Before creating a new thread please refer to Quickstart guides for Reach and Reach RS.

In case you are creating a thread about an issue it is necessary to provide following information to get help:

1. Firmware image and ReachView version.
  2. Detailed problem description. How does observed behavior differ from the expected one?
  3. Your step by step actions.
  4. Picture of the setup and connection scheme.
  5. Specify the exact make and model of the hardware you are integrating.

Hi,

I’m setting up a ‘Community’ CORS station using a reach board. I am hosting the receiver at a university and have been given a fixed ip for the receiver allowing us to run a public ip or port forwarding once we get the antenna and receiver setup. I will connect the receiver OTG to our LAN network using a lan adapter. I have lots of experience connecting to the REACH over wifi etc but zero getting it on a hardwired network. Is there a workflow to set the IP, subnet, gateway and DNS of the receiver to the IP i want to use? I need some advice on configuring to a fixed IP on the Edison. Thanks in advance!

Conor.

Edit: Uhm… For the LAN part over OTG. that might be different story, possibly. So not sure i gave you the right tip

Yeh it’s the LAN fixed IP i need a bit of help with. Not sure if the ‘LAN’ connection will use the same IP as WIFI, alos wonder is the device MAC adress the same via wifi and OTG.

Thanks,

C.

I would guess that you would specify a static IP for the reach in your router settings. Then the address to the reach would always be the same from anywhere on the LAN even in the event of power cycles. Assignment of ip is generally the responsibility of the router not the device itself.

See if this make more sence. @bide is awesome as usual :heart_eyes:

And this
https://communities.intel.com/thread/60242

But this part here… what adapter are your referring to?