Complete Newbie

Hello all
I am an excavating contractor. this Jan the laws in my area started requiring drawings to be submitted for septic systems in advance of approval. These drawings must include property lines, house site, tank location, lateral field locations, and actual elevations for everything. So if there is heavy brush, in the lateral area we have qo clear it in order for the health dept to be able to see all the stakes. The builder will have the house staked and I lay out the lateral field along the contours with a laser and a tape. once that is done the real work starts as I have to measure everything, and I mean everything in order to place everything in to the drawing semi accurately.
This has lead me here in a search for an affordable solution to collect this data via gps, total station, or laser system. As you know the total station option is quite expensive and limited by line of site, making some of the property corners quite difficult. The same with a 2.5 dimesional laser system. They are limited by line of site and are quite expensive. This has lead me here.
My questions are, if I by the survey package and set up my own base station, Does it have to be set up over a monument or know location, or can I set it up over a property corner and get acceptable results.
About half of my sites are in the trees, can I get acceptable results in the trees ether by PPK or a local free base station.
I know the first question is going to be “what are acceptable results”. I would like cent accuracy but if I was in the trees and and was within a couple of feet I would be ok with that. I tried with a handheld garmin and was getting about 6 to 15-20 ft and thats just not close enough.
I have been doing as much reading as possible, but I am getting conflicting information regarding the single frequency of Reach. Most of the big companies all use dual frequency, leading me to believe that it couls be better, but they arent affordable.