Camera trigger with Edge and Reach M+

Hello everybody,

I am a beginner and I have a copter built up with Emlid Edge and a Reach M + module.
I have the following questions:

1. I would like to use the Reach M + module without base station to record the camera events. To trigger the camera, does the camera trigger function suffice directly from the Edge Flight Controller or does the camera need to be triggered by the Reach M + module?
    Is the HSA adapter needed to capture the events of the camera during the flight, or is the HSA adapter needed as a trigger? What can i do when my camera doesn´t have a HSA Adaptor, like the Sony A5100? Do i need a camera with Hot Shoe Connector?
  2. I have on the channel port no. 10 from the Edge module, the camera is connected to a PWM shutter module, but the camera does not fire. I have the port 10 defined as Camera Trigger and set the port as a PWM output in the QControl software, but does not work.
    Then I defined the port 10 as a relay port and connected the trigger cable directly without the PWM shutter module, but it does not work either. Do I need a relay or TTL module?
  3. Where can i find the setting for the reach View App, when i´m using the reach M+ module without the Reach RS Base station?
    Thank you very much for your help!

Hi @rcdevil,

Since you sent a message with the same questions to Emlid support email, I answered you there.
In case you’ve any questions, feel free to ask in this thread.

Thanks.

To integrate Reach M+ with a camera it needs to have a hot shoe. Reach hot shoe adapter is used for saving events only and not triggering.
As for triggering you can just configure time lapse on your camera. In that case, there’s no need in any separate cables.
If you want to trigger the camera from Reach, it requires creating a separate cable for the camera depending on its model.