Basic Base-Rover survey workflow question

Hi all, I am new to using any surveying equipment and would like to see if anyone has any feedback on my current workflow for a basic use case, and also ask a few questions.

Use case
I have 2 RS2 units, one configured as a BASE, and one as a ROVER, with corrections via LoRa from the BASE. I am only concerned about accuracy for relative positions. My plan is to:

1. Set the BASE RS2 in a fixed position. Edit the BASE RS2’s Base Mode coordinate to average Single, and then fix that as a manual coordinate for the BASE location.
  2. Using the survey function on the app, use the ROVER to take measurements of 3 positions, averaging only FIXed solutions. *I don’t have a tripod for the ROVER, and plan to place it on the ground (there will be some tree cover).
  3. Export the csv file to my laptop and calculate the distance and angles of the line of sights between point 1 and 2, and point 2 and 3 (to check the line of sights are perpendicular to each other).

Questions
a) Based on the above workflow, am I correct to assume a relative accuracy of 7mm+1mm/km for the survey positions?

b) I plan to also save the data logs as a backup. What is the difference between using the position file log from the ROVER, vs post processing both the raw .ubx files from the BASE and ROVER using the “GPS post-processing” workflow and getting the output .pos file?

Hope to hear if anyone has any input, thanks!

1 Like

Hi Dominic,

Your workflow looks good. I only have a few comments:

You don’t need a tripod for the rover. A survey pole should be enough.

Please note that GNSS receivers require some sky visibility to track satellite signals. Reach RS2 is a multi-band device that can work in challenging conditions with some trees nearby. However, even Reach RS2 can’t work under dense foliage.

Regarding your questions:

Yes, you’re right.