"Bad LIDAR Health" on Navio2 With LeddarOne Lidar Sensor

I’m working on a research project at my University where I’m building a drone to fly indoors and carry a 3D Lidar Sensor. Currently I have the drone flying and I am trying to use a LeddarOne connected to the UART port on the Navio2 board for height data. I followed through the ArduPilot documentation for the sensor first.

In the file /etc/default/arducopter :
So far I have tried using:
-C /dev/ttyAMA0 115200
-F,-E
I have tried setting it to both Telem2 and Telem3.
In mission planner I have set the corresponding serial port type as 9 with 115 baud.

Every combination I have tried has given me the “Bad LIDAR Health” warning and the sonarrange value is always at 0.

I am fairly new to how serial communication works and sure that I am doing something simple wrong but not sure what it is.

Thank you!

Hi Brady,

May I ask you to describe the powering of the LiDAR?

I have the sensor powered though the 5V and GND on the UART port.

I will try to power it from the servo rail and see if that does it. I believe it draws somewhere around 250mA which is probably the issue as I’m pretty sure the Pi can’t supply that.

Hi Brady,

The Ardupilot docs provide this information: “Bad LiDAR Health” message is caused because the rangefinder isn’t enabled for landing. This is done through the RNGFND_LANDING parameter and if the set you should see the message disappear.

Inside the Full Parameter List I was unable to find the value for RNGFND_LANDING.

I believe the RNGFND_LANDING is only used in Arduplane.

Hi Brady,

What software do you use? RNGFND_LANDING is also used in Mission Planner.

I am using Mission Planner but even when I search it is not there. I’m wondering if it’s the EKF being set up to use the sensor.

May I ask you to clarify what do you mean by EKF?