6 Meter Error

Hey everyone
i’m just getting started with my EMLID reach equipment but i’m having problems getting my data to work correctly.

I recently did a job at a water treatment plant and after PPK my data seemed to be skewed north east by approximately 6 meters. The equipment I used was a
-EMLID Reach rs as the base station
-EMLID Reach as the rover
-Aircraft was an MD4-1000
-Camera sony a7r2
All equipment was using the latest firmware
The camera was sending time mark signals to the rover unit via a hot shoe attachment.
The data was then put through RTKpost to generate a solution

The Base was set up on top of a drain cover shown next to the bottom arrow but the reference position wound up next to the top arrow.

I am at a loss as to what my problem could possibly be, if anyone is able or willing to help me it would be much appreciated. Also if anyone needs more information about my procedures and setup I am happy to provide that information.
Thankyou.

For sure it is a base station coordinate error. So that could be user-introduced, or it could be a quirk with RTKpost, or maybe what you are lining up to is incorrect.

Tell us how you got your base coordinate, what base coordinate setting you used in RTKpost, what version of RTKpost you have, and what data you are comparing your survey against to know that it is offset.

The base was set to get its coordinate via average single position, The RTKpost setting for the base was set to RINEX header position.
The RTK post version is 2.4.3 emlid b28

The client provided an accurate technical drawing of the site that was accurate to around 5cm, I also compared my data to google earth.

Thanks for helping!

Rinex Header Position is actually the last known position of the base. This could be off by meters.

1 Like

So, it would have been good to write down that averaged single position your base created. It would have been off too, but by a lesser amount.