How to launch APM Planner without RC

Is it possible to install the firmware and do the set up without the RC ?

Thanks

Yes people are using joysticks with Mission Planner (and recent APM Planner 2 beta builds). But seriously a cheap RC receiver is advisable as a backup or for agile control (take-off/landings/racing).

But the firmware = program on RasPi/Linux. There is no firmware download necessary in the GUI. Just follow instructions to download the APM build for Linux/Navio HAL, run it then connect with Mission Planner and do the steps in Initial Setup after that (power module offsets, calibration, etc…)

These links may help:

Hi thanks a lot !
I was quite confused , but you can use APM Planner instead of Mission Planner right ?
I have installed APM on Linux/Navio without a problem but whenever I open APM Planner it doesn’t connect so thats why I was wondering if it was because it needed a radio connection. Sorry Im very new to this :smiley:

Yes APM Planner will connect but you’ll have to clean-up a load of junk it automatically adds:

1. Start APM Planner 2, go to the File menu and enable “Advanced Mode”.

2. New menus will appear. Click the “Communication” menu then, for each entry (connection) below the top “Add Link” option, click it. In the connection dialog, click “Disconnect” if connected (else it will show “Connect” then do nothing) then click “Delete Link”.

3. Check: Now you should have NO connections at all (a good starting point).

4. Click the “Communication → Add Link → TCP” then enter the port and IP address you started APM with (e.g. “sudo ArduCopter.elf -A tcp:192.168.1.2:5555”) then “Connect”.

It should connect. If not, you have to check a few things on the Linux side:

1. Did you supply the start-up parameters to match? There are three virtual serial (UART) ports in APM which are mapped to local (physical or pipe) or remote (network) ports of Navio via the “-A”, “-B” and “-C” parameters. Run “ArduCopter --help” for examples.