What settings for a fix?

Hi guys,

I am pretty new to Emlid Reach, RTK, etc. Let me expose to you the setup I am working with :
-One of the Reach modules + GPS antennas are on tripod and serve as the base. That’s static.
-The other pair Reach module/GPS antenna is on a drone and this is obviously the rover. Right now it’s not flying, I just move it around by carrying it.

Note that I haven’t set up APM Mission Planner or the Reach modules to be used as a GPS system by the drone. I am trying to minimize the sources of errors right now so I will do this later. I basically followed the Quickstart guide to configure the Reach modules.

Both Reach modules communicate on a local network through a router. This router is not connected to the Internet since I am carrying out experiments outside. But I updated Reachview to the latest version beforehand. Both GPS antennas are also mounted on ground planes.

Now let me tell you about my routine when I deploy the whole thing outside. I deploy the base and the rover 50 meters apart in a field. They both have an unobstructed view of the skies. I locate and update the coordinates of the base. Then I pray for getting a fix.

So far I have gotten a fix twice, on two different days. Both days had great weather with blue cloudless skies. I was getting 10/12 satellites with 5 or more having a green gauge. The fixes were held for a few minutes, then they disappeared and I never got them again for more than a few seconds both days. I have never obtained a fix with the stock settings. I have been trying to mess with some settings after searching some threads on the forum here, of guys trying to find the right tweaks to get a fix reliably. Unfortunately, this seems to be randomly occurring for me which is why I want to seek advice from you guys :

what settings do you use, tweak, not touch to get a reliable fix ?
Are there some common mistakes/pitfalls to avoid when trying to get a fix ?