Settings for surveying in Canada

Hello everyone.

As a novice, I notice that there are many parameters based on the physical location of the equipment and the type of work to be performed.
Perhaps it is impossible to answer it, but: would there be preferential settings for a manual (ponctual) survey with only one rover in Eastern Canada?
Frequencies, type of sat, AR … a wizard could be great for the next iteration!

Thanks
Alex

I am from Western Canada but first of all I would ask what you are using for a base station and how you will be receiving corrections at rover. After that is ascertained I will gladly share any info I have, although most of it is generic and not specific to Canada.

Hi Brent,

Actually, I’m only using the rover (not sure if I can call it rover if I’m only using one module), but I have another one for the base, unused now. I don’t using it because I want to do fast survey on the field, before a uav flight, to confirm the path, exported in .shp, ~1m are ok.
Is the accuracy can be enough good (~1m) with only one module?
Is it possible to be fast with a base too? I have a 3dr radio kit for it, not set yet.

Also, I saw there is some NRCan caster across Canada. Is it free? I didn’t find info about connection.

Thanks again
Alex

For a single Rover Static L1 only LLH, NRCan PPP is approx. 1 M. Geodetic tools and data I suggest the following for IGS/NRCan http://www.igs.org/rts/products for real-time info. Use Rover - Base Real-Time for precise relative surveys. L1 only LLH earth based less accurate & maybe not available. Don’t know about price. Says public service free with registration. Assume you would have cell phone coverage.

Also, try: http://www.nrcan.gc.ca/sites/www.nrcan.gc.ca/files/earthsciences/pdf/Canada-RTK-UserGuide-v1_1-EN.pdf

See Emlid Docs & Tutorial for more details…