Reach RS2 Fix Solution

So, I am very new to both the Reach RS2 and GPS surveying in general. I am using the base/rover combination to collect data points to export into cad for site plan layout, looking for cm accuracy, relative to the base. here are a couple of questions that have surfaced.

1. When setting up the base i am choosing to set the coordinates by average single. Should the indicator light on the unit shine steady indicating a fixed solution? If not, does that indicate that it is not receiving sufficient satellite signal and won’t provide sufficient corrections to the rover to give it a fixed solution?

2. Should I be able to obtain a fix on a cloudy day? In a semi-wooded setting with no foliage?

3. Is it more important that the base be set with a clear sky view than the rover?

4. I am having some trouble getting my phone to connect by bluetooth. Is that connection only for storing collected data directly to your device?

Thanks for the help

Steve

Welcome to the community Steve!