Reach/Reach RS RTK Correction Data through Free NTRIP - Beginners

Today I want to make a guide for absolute beginners to use the NTRIP functionality of Reach. As we know, for RTK to function, real time data must be streamed from a base station to a rover. With the Emlid Reach RS, there are several options for streaming this data, including, bluetooth, serial, local network, and of course, the LoRa radio. The Reach board does not have the LoRa option at this time. There is another option that is also very simple and handy to use for RTK, know as NTRIP. Follow the link for an explanation of NTRIP.
http://lefebure.com/articles/ntrip-caster-setup/
This is a good way to send data over long distances because it’s not affected by line of sight or distance. All that’s required is a good data connection and two Reach/Reach RS units.Remember, both units must be on a network with data.
A typical scenario would be your base station at the office on the roof connected by wi-fi to your local office. It could just run continually. This could easily be a lower cost Reach board. Then you could have your RS on site with your mobile phone providing the hotspot. With the network settings saved on your Reach RS. It will be only a matter of enabling your hotspot on your phone and then turning your Reach RS on. Reach RS will automatically find your phone and you can begin surveying through Reachview app. Of course, this tends to use more battery power and will use data as well.
Now let’s get started.

First, let’s look at the settings on the BASE Station. Not all the settings I show in my screenshots are critical and some may be less then ideal. Remember there are many different applications. I am covering one basic scenario.

Base Station Status

Settings to review.

1. Correction Input Tab - Correction input should all be off. Remember this is the base station.