GPS Newbie

Hi, my company recently just purchased a set of RS2 survey kit. I am new to this GPS and I’m not sure how to use it. We are using it to take the points for cable detection works and also Ground Penetrating Radar (GPR) survey.
Set up all the things according to the youtube videos, but the accuracy somehow is off by few meters. So I used two ways to check the accuracy:

1. Take the points and input in a topo survey drawing, as I believe topo survey should be nearly 100% accurate.
  2. Compare with the points taken by Trimble R10, as we already have existing R10. By right RS2 should be more accurate as Trimble R10 is centimeters accuracy, RS2 is millimeters accuracy (according to what I saw on internet). But somehow all the points taken with RS2 is off by few meters, while the points taken by Trimble R10 is very accurate.

I’m not sure is there any error within the RS2 setting or because I didn’t not subscribe to any NTRIP service. From what I saw from the website: Reach RS2 needs a base station as a source of corrections. That’s a requirement for centimeter accuracy in RTK and PPK. Base might be either another Reach RS2 receiver or an NTRIP service.".
So I suppose if i already have one RS2 as the base station to act as the source of correction, whatever points taken by another RS2 receiver (rover), if I get a FIX solution, it should achieve at least centimeter accuracy right?
Please correct me if I’m wrong.

How did you setup your base, average single or manually over a known point?

A rovers fixed data is only as accurate as the corrections it receives from a base. All data is relevant to the base stations location Lat/Lon/Alt. If any of those are off, your rover is equally off by that much.

If you have a known point, do a manual setup and input the LAT/LON/ALT then test again. It should be very close then.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply.