Drone Mapping

New to drone mapping here. Recently purchased a Mavic 3 Enterprise w/ RTK module. As my state does not offer a NTRIP network to tap into, I would need a subscription to a local network which is pretty expensive.
My question in here is, which Emlid hardware would be sufficient to be able to utilize the RTK module on my drone? I have been told that the RS2+ is a great solution, but are there less expensive alternatives, as I’m just getting started and don’t need top of the line equipment to begin with. I appreciate and advice/feedback. Thanks!

Blockquote, sure they are, right now emlid RS 2+ is the best value for money gnss for drone mapping IMO

1 Like

And that is all I would need to be able to use the RTK module on my drone?

That is correct. It can be configured as a rover (receiving corrections) and a base (transmitting) at the same time. Obviously there’s no use case for that, lol, it just means you don’t have to change any settings. IMO it is required to have a receiver of this nature if you are going to do aerial mapping.

We normally use a network via NTRIP directly to the aircraft but if the GNSS values of the drone aren’t cutting it or it is taking minutes to fix we will set a point and do local NTRIP. I’ve never seen the GNSS configuration screen of the M3E but I assume they give provide access the the QoS of the satellites and the corrections.

A lot of the time we are on the edges of suburbia and can only get sketchy data service so it is better to establish a base point and do local NTRIP. We have a small network of control points throughout our region that we can set up a base on and traverse control where needed because Texas’ stereotype of being big is no joke when it comes to CORS. Our grid on average is about 50km with a few 40’s and 70’s where a station has been deprecated. VRS helps but it’s the same situation with the cell towers so it’s futile at some point.