Absolute minimum equipment set needed

Background:
My plan is to create a (front axle steered) rover applying ArduRover 4.0 stack, Mission planner GCS software and Pixhawk1 flight controller. As I need positioning accuracy better than 0.5 meters (10 cm would be nice), I presumably need some kind of RTK correction. Reach M+ seems to be an affordable solution.

Needless to say, I’m total newbie so all information is new to me. I went through all documents about using Reach+ with NTRIP feature, but wasn’t able to grasp the one simple picture of the equipment I must obtain.

Questions:

1. Considering NTRIP (DGNSS) is available, do I need more than one Reach M+ unit and it’s GPS antenna to use RTK?
  2. Will there be need for base unit at all?
  3. Should Pixhawk unit be equipped with another GPS unit or this Reach M+ unit solely?
  4. What kind of telemetry radios I can use or is there need for any Reach M+ related telemetry between the rover and ground control station?

Extra wish (humbly):
A clear connection chart would be very nice, showing unambiguously all the gadgets and their connections needed here. I know quite every unit can be connected through various ports, but I’m feeling lucky that someone knows the best one :slight_smile:

I’ll start you off with answers to #1 and #2:

To get the accuracy of RTK, a base and a rover is required. The rover corrects its own position by using the RTCM3 ‘corrections’ stream that comes from the base in ‘real time’, which implies you that have a live communication link between the base and rover. That communication link is commonly achieved with a radio or a mobile Internet connection.