Using QGIS as Survey tool

QGIS (previously known as Quantum GIS) is a cross-platform free and open-source desktop geographic information system (GIS) application that provides data viewing, editing, and analysis. QGIS - Wikipedia
The first I heard of QGIS was on this forum approximately a year ago.
Survey for fence - #10 by robins
Since then, I have been studying it in my spare time and have been amazed what a powerful tool it is. It can be used for almost any GIS application. I have recently used it for developing contour lines and publishing drone imagery, including elevation data. I am not an expert in its use but I’d like to show how I connect to it and hope to use it together with the Reach RS/Reach. Hopefully more ideas come as more users try it!
I am referring to QGIS running on Windows.There are other Android versions, etc. but I am not certain as to their functionality.
First of all, we need to connect our survey equipment to QGIS. There are two simple ways. One, over local network, or secondly, by USB. In order to connect over local network, the computer running QGIS needs to be on the same network as the rover. This can be via the rover’s hotspot. This screenshot shows the reach Rover config and the QGIS config.

The port number is the same as we’ll enter in QGIS to find position string.

In QGIS, the colour panel turns green to indicate connection when we enter in the i.p. address of the rover and the port number.
The second way to connect is via “serial device”, actually USB.First plug the micro USB into the opening on Rover.

Then, plug the other end into the computer usb port.

For this, the settings on your rover should look something like this.

When I viewed my devices on my Windows tablet, it showed a driver error
But this didn’t cause any trouble.
In QGIS, choose to connect by serial device and use the same COM port as is shown in connected devices.