Accuracy: the the point

Allright, so the Reach has been existing for some time, and some people have tested it.

If you use a single Reach and process it with NTRIP data from my country’s VRS data, and you would use it like a surveyor to measure points quickly. What’s the accuracy you’re REALLY getting?

And how much bigger does it get if you setup a second one as a base station, on an unknowd point ?

Here is a good topic about Reach precision:

If you setup a base station at an unknown point you will get accurate relative position, but to get accurate absolute position you will need to define the base coordinates.

I’m not sure about NTRIP or VRS and I am not an expert, but I do use Reach to log data at stationary points and then post-process the data. In doing that, I get good accuracy.

For example:

• I made a triangle between two known points (numbers 1 and 3) and an unknown point (number 2).
  • The two known points have published latitude/longitude/height accurate to 1mm and they are 9km apart.
  • I place the base station at the unknown point (2).
  • I take the rover to known point (1) for 20 minutes.
  • Then, I move the rover to known point (3) for 20 minutes.
  • Later I download the log files and post-process the data with RTKLIB.
  • Calculating from known point 1, I find the position of my base station on the unknown point (2).
  • Calculating from the now known position (2) of my base station to the known point (3), I get the result and compare to the published coordinates.
  • I did this exercise twice on different days.
  • On day 1, my result was within 3mm of the published coordinates, and on day 2, my result was within 3cm of the published coordinates.

So, from that exercise, I believe that I can be accurate to a few cm in a triangle with sides of length 9km, 6km, and 5km and I am very happy with that.

5 Likes

How does this work, placing the base station at an unknown point and getting this accuracy?